How Insurance Claims Work after a Car Accident in Florida
If you are in a car accident and suffer injuries, you likely know that you will need to deal with insurance companies. In most states, the injury victims file claims against the insurance policy of the at-fault driver and collect benefits from their liability coverage. However, the current system works quite differently in Florida, as we are a no-fault state for auto coverage.
Instead of requiring drivers to have liability insurance, Florida law requires drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This is no-fault coverage that should kick in no matter who was to blame for the crash. Even if someone else caused your accident, you would still need to begin with a claim against your own PIP policy.
PIP insurance coverage is limited, however. The policy will cover:
- Up to $10,000 for 80 percent of medical bills and 60 percent of lost income
- Up to $2,500 if your injuries are not considered to be an emergency
Often, car accident injuries result in losses far greater than these policy limits.
If your injury is considered to be severe or permanent, the law then allows you to go after the at-fault driver’s insurance. However, meeting this threshold is challenging, and you want a lawyer who is experienced in handling Florida car accident claims involving serious injuries. Then, you can seek compensation up to that driver’s policy limits or file an injury lawsuit in civil court. If that driver does not have liability coverage, you might need to turn to your own uninsured motorist policy.
Speak with a Casselberry & Oviedo Car Accident Lawyer Today
Even if you are filing a claim with your own PIP coverage, it is wise to discuss your rights with an Oviedo and Casselberry car accident attorney. Our team at Quattrochi & Torres assists crash victims with different types of insurance claims, and we can help you. Contact us for a free case evaluation today.